Atari Lynx and Lynx II Video Game Console Papercraft

Atar Lynx 01

The first color handheld game system was the Lynx system from Atari.

My papercraft design for the original Lynx was pretty straightforward, except for the hand grips on the back. I had to use a bit of artistic license on them. Plus, it turns out that the cartridges were inserted inside one of the grips (I never actually owned a Lynx), so I had to create a cart port that resembles the Lynx as close as I could get it.

The Lynx II was a bit more design-intensive, just because I couldn’t quite get some of the folds to work properly.  I ended up having the top and bottom pieces separate, which is a bit less aesthetically pleasing, but a lot more functional.

Here is a shot of my collection so far, to give a size perspective:

collection 004

Atari Lynx

Leave a comment